Pointing them to Jesus in the midst of cultural celebrations.

One thing I’ve learned since becoming a parent is that you don’t have a lot of time with your kids. Ephesians 5:15-16 says, “Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.” Brian and I recently sat down to really be intentional about the ways we plan our schedule. One of our top priorities we filter our schedule through is making quality time available for us to pour into Ari. I remember reading a blogpost written by a mom who realized she only had so many summers with her kids, so she was going to make the most of it. With Easter coming around for the first time for our little guy, I realized we only have so many ressurection celebrations, 18 in home, Lord willing, to point him to Christ, and I want to make the most of that time.

10151842_10154034762545503_1404749843465700145_n

“Will we do the Easter bunny?” I asked Brian this recently. No, was his answer, with an explaination along the lines of…yes, little gift baskets and eggs if people want to give them to him, but Easter’s not about the rabbit.

“So…if it’s not about the rabbit…or chocolate eggs…what will we teach our children it’s about?” I began asking for wisdom on how God would have us celebrate Easter. As a mom, these are the things I spend time thinking about, planning for, so we can create a fun loving environment for our children to learn about Jesus in. Because of that, a lot of my prayers have become very practical these days. 😉

It was literally just this last Christmas that I even learned what Advent means. It’s only been the last few years I’ve actually begun to meditate on the message of Christmas and Easter. Why is this? I grew up in a Christian home, I went to church on those holidays along with many other Sundays in the year, and I could tell you with my mouth what those celebrations were about.

But my heart didn’t get it. As I really began to think about how I desired to convey Jesus’ message for these celebrations to my family, I realized that in some ways, all those gifts and material things that I looked forward to at Christmas and Easter did get in the way. That’s my own coveteous heart’s problem, I realize that. But I didn’t want to create any sort of stumbling block for Ari trying to grasp the great things Jesus has accomplished for him.

No, I am NOT saying don’t give your children gifts. Obviously both of these holidays were about God giving His only Son as the best gift to all of sinful, rotten, smelly humanity, and I want to be a parent that reflects that same sort of love.

So, what am I saying?

Gifts need to be given in the context of the gospel and the Greatest Gift Giver needs to be talked about. Jesus gave His life, so we reflect His love by giving to other. We don’t deserve to get anything special on these days, but parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, and other family members may choose to give gifts to show their love.

Aside from that, Brian and I decided that we want to practice the Passover Meal celebration as a family. This would put the focus of Easter on Jesus a few days BEFORE any gift giving would take place. And Passover is just so, so cool. It’s such an awesome reflection of the better Passover that takes place at the cross for those who are covered by the shed blood of Jesus.

A friend of mine shared this fun Passover meal how-to a few years back. I’m gathering all the odd supplies this week, and am anticipating learning about what each of them represent. Like horseradish? Yuck! (I think that’s the point…haha) Here are some ideas for putting together a traditional Seder Meal as well.

I also can’t wait to go through Love to the Uttermost this next week. I went through John Piper’s advent readings in December, and it greatly helped me see Jesus’ mission in coming to the earth, so I’m excited to learn more about Jesus in Easter.

These seem like such simple things that we should get by now, huh? haha Nope…we’re always under construction, as I’ve heard a recent teacher say. 😉 Until heaven, I will continue to look to Jesus for direction in all these things. 🙂

I know God’s methodology to celebrate these great days in history differs for each family. I’d love to hear some of the traditions you’ve incorporated into your celebrations. 🙂

Happy Almost Holy Week! 🙂

In Christ